Prof. Dr. İhsan ÇALIŞ

İhsan ÇALIŞ received his BS degree from Ankara University, Faculty of Pharmacy in 1972. He got his Ph.D. degree from Hacettepe University Institute of Health Sciences Pharmacognosy Program in 1978. In 1982 – 1983, he continued his post-doctoral studies at Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH-Z), Department of Pharmacy (Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences), Pharmacognosy and Phytochemistry Divison, in the frame of a research fellowship program supported by Swiss National Science Foundation. In 1983 and 1988, he was appointed as Associated Professor, and, Professor at Hacettepe University, respectively. He served as the Chairman of the Department of Pharmacognosy at Faculty of Pharmacy, Hacettepe University in 1986 – 2000. Under his supervision, eight Master of Science thesis (MSc) and eight Doctorate Thesis (Ph.D.) were completed in the Pharmacognosy Program. He was co-referee for eight dissertation studies abroad (Switzerland and Germany). Between 1986 – 2005, he conducted studies in Switzerland (1986 – 2002).

(ETH-Z) and Germany (2004: Friedrich-Schiller University Jena; 2005: Regensburg University), invited as a guest researcher for three months every year. He is the referee for many scientific journals, and the member of scientific societies. He is the founding member of Turkish Pharmacists’ Association (TEB) Academy of Pharmacy and Faculty of Pharmacy at Near East University (NEU). He has been teaching both theoretical and laboratory courses as well as conducting research with graduate students. Currently, Prof. Dr. Çalış is the head of Department of Pharmacognosy at Faculty of Pharmacy, and the director of Institute of Health Sciences at NEU. His research interests include the isolation and structural elucidation of natural products which can be leading compounds in the drug discovery studies. The number of the new compounds as a result of his scientific studies is reaching to 250. He published around 170 research articles in international refereed journals. He was awarded “Hacettepe University 1998-1999 Academic Year Science Award” and “2001 The Scientific and Technological Research Council of Turkey (TUBITAK) Science Award in the field of Health Sciences.”